Discovering the Island’s end.

It has become habitual to end my days with long walks along the stretch of beach, past the surfers beach where I spent this past Saturday trying (semi-successfully) to re-learn how to surf (with deep-red rashes along the sides of my body as proof of my endurance) and even further past the Iguana crossing and turtles nesting area.

Sunset along the beach

Photo from a few days ago, while walking along the beach.

I must admit that this isn’t as easy or relaxing (emotionally) as it sounds. It’s almost a mental test for me.  As the sunsets are always stunning and at this time and the only other people walking along the beach are the handful of honeymooners who are definitely on their honeymoon. In fact in my few weeks I’ve been here, I’ve been the only person at sunset on the beach walking solo, and I have had to train myself to think positively and ignore the looks of sympathy from the couples seeing me walking alone holding my own hands. 

Ahh, how to describe the truly indescribable? On this certain pensive walk I didn’t bring my camera, after a long day of lugging my heavy Nikon and tripod around the dusty town to interview people it was the last thing on my mind, so here goes nothing…

The Island ends in sand dunes covered  by salt shrub and trees with sagging limbs heavy with ripe fruit. The beach is smothered by the belly tracks of mama sea turtles. A small green padded hill is topped by a lone branching umbrella pine. Shadows on the rock face turn out to be caves. Closer, the soft parabola of a low arched portal reveals that its been carved by the waves and leads into another hidden space. At this windblown lands end I find its inhabited with lumbering black marine iguanas. Their dwelling is impressive, with jutting jet-black rocks reaching out like seafarers venturing beyond the horizon, out of sight from shore.

The cave is surprisingly warm and shallow, perhaps 20 feet deep; with charcoal smudged walls and sedimentary melting off the arching doorway. I’ve stumbled upon one of earth’s many megafauna art galleries; heavy with artifacts such as turquoise sparking water transcending the pearly white sand and rich red soil oscillating from all sides. 

The notion that our earth can create such an exotic mosaic makes me half-believe in miracles and half-dizzy from a lack of available senses to take in the scenery. 

Sea lion posing for me at sunset

Sea lion posing for me at sunset

Leave a Reply

